Monday, November 27, 2006

CSC Statesman adjudged Bicol's
best tertiary student publication

WINNERS TAKE ALL – Ruzzel Valdepeña, Ezra Efondo, Michael Jake Arcilla, Misty Irish Gail Villasana and Adem Nalu V. Rubio show off the major awards they bagged in the 11th ICSCJ, both in the group and individual writing contest categories.

For the second time, the Catanduanes State Colleges’ official tertiary student publication was proclaimed Campus Paper of the Year, as well as Best in Editorial Page, Best in Layout and Best in Sports Page in the 11th Intercollegiate Summit on Campus Journalism conducted by Society of Junior Fellows and National Youth Commission on November 24-26, 2006 at Carolina, Naga City.

The contest entry, the SY 2006-2007 1st Semester issue of CSC Statesman, the official tertiary student publication of the CSC, competed with other campus papers of state and private colleges and universities in Region V.

Aside from the unprecedented sweep of four major group awards, the CSC student writers also scored top ranks in the individual writing contest.

Proclaimed winners were Misty Irish Gail Villasana, 1st Place, News Writing and 3rd Place, Editorial Writing; Michael Jake Arcilla, 3rd Place, Copyreading & Headline Writing, Adem Nalu V. Rubio, 3rd Place, Sports Writing, and Ruzzel Valdepeña, 3rd Place, Editorial Cartooning. Ezra Efondo, the Statesman’s Graphics and Layout Editor likewise received the Best in Layout award for the publication.

It can be recalled that the CSC student publication also bagged major awards in previous ICSCJ stagings. It was proclaimed Campus Paper of the Year, Best in Layout and Best in Features Page in 2001; Best in Editorial Page in 2003, and Best in Investigative Report in 2004. Its student writers likewise consistently garnered major awards in the various writing events in the said journalism competition. # #